sexta-feira, 30 de novembro de 2012

Typical Dish from Alentejo

Another typical dish from Alentejo: Migas com entrecosto

The main ingredients are: bread, and pork meat.


Alentejo - Monuments

Here are some of the monuments to visit in Alentejo:

Alentejo - Tourism

The Alentejo is a destination increasingly sought by tourists. According to data from Alentejo Tourism, the region grew by 5.9% in the number of overnight stays in 2011.

According to data from the National Statistics Institute, in 2010, the number of overnight stays was 1.173 million. And in 2011 the number increased to 1.241 million overnight stays. 

Also according to the National Statistics Institute, the Alentejo was the "only national region" with a "positive" performance.

Already in 2012, according to data from Regional Agency for Tourism Promotion of the Alentejo, and comparing with 2010, there was a 25% increase in overnight stays of foreign tourists.

quinta-feira, 29 de novembro de 2012

Typical Dish of Alentejo

As we are almost at lunchtime, here is typical dish of the Alentejo: Açorda

The main ingredients are: bread, olive oil, coriander, pennyroyal, codfish and eggs.


Alentejo - Economy

The Alentejo is known as the 'granary of Portugal'. Most cities live predominantly based on:
- Agriculture;
- Livestock;
- Wood.  
Although the tourism sector has been gaining increasing expression as well as all services associated therewitht.

Other important activities in the region are:  
- Production of regional products (typical cheeses, wines, smoked hams, sausages, etc.);
- Marble;
- Cork;
- Olive oil.

The Alentejo is characterized by its vast plains, with productive soils and a very specific eco-system, which are suitable for the cultivation of: citrus, grapes, olive, apples, wheat, cereals, watermelon, melon, herbs (parsley, coriander, mint, oregano, etc.), onions, lettuce, corn, potato, sunflower, tomato, beans, broad beans, peas, carrots, cabbage, etc.



Alentejo - Origin of the Name

Alentejo is a south-central region of Portugal. The origin of its name, "Além-Tejo", is literally translated to "Beyond the Tagus" or "Across the Tagus".

Its main cities are Évora, Elvas, Portalegre, Beja, Serpa and Sines.


sexta-feira, 23 de novembro de 2012

Wine Production in the Alentejo

Currently, the Alentejo is well known for its high quality wines. The region is dotted with vast areas of ​​vineyards - about 22.000 hectares, and 4.000 owners.
However, not always wine production has had as much importance as currently. Formerly, due to the characteristics of climate and soil of Alentejo, the productions were mainly based on cereals, olive, oak, corn and cattle. The wine was only intended for local consumption and its production was done in a traditional way.

It was only in the 80s that the winery sector has gained prominence: the sector was revitalized, production facilities were improved and associations have been established.
Currently there are eight sub-regions well known for its cherished wines: Evora, Borba, Granja/Amareleja, Moura, Portalegre, Reguengos, Redondo e Vidigueira.



Alentejo - The beauty of simplicity

ALENTEJO - amazing region in all its diversity and beauty:

- 27.224 km of unforgettable beauty; 
- 3.000 hours of sunshine per year; 
- Around 50 beaches; 
- The biggest artificial lake in Europe - 'Alqueva'; 
- Unspoilt traditional architecture; 
- Protected religious monuments; 
- 551.000ha of protected areas; 
- Évora World Heritage Site; 
- Large demarcated wine region;
- Etc.


quinta-feira, 22 de novembro de 2012

Taste Portugal

Here is a sample of the wonderful Portuguese gastronomy:

          Source: - Turismo de Portugal -

Portugal Promotional Tourism Film - 2011

Portugal - The beauty of Simplicity:

Source: Turismo de Portugal -


The Alentejo is one of the regions of Portugal, which covers the districts of Portalegre, Évora and Beja, and the southern half of the district of Setúbal and part of the district of Santarém. The Alentejo is thus the largest region of Portugal.

List of cities in Alentejo:

     - Évora (World
     - Santarém
     - Beja
     - Elvas (World Heritage)
     - Portalegre
     - Sines
     - Almeirim
     - Rio Maior
     - Cartaxo
     - Vendas Novas
     - Montemor-o-Novo
     - Vila Nova de Santo André
     - Ponte de Sor
     - Estremoz
     - Alcacer do Sal
     - Moura
     - Santiago Cacém
     - Reguengos Monsaraz
     - Serpa
     - Borba

 Source: Photo by Carlos Helder Leitão de Macedo -

Portugal - sights

Wonderful promotional video made ​​by Tourism of Portugal:

Source: Turismo de Portugal -

Portugal and its regions

Portugal is a European country, which is divided into 5 regions: 
- Alentejo; 
- Algarve; 
- Center
- Lisboa and Vale do Tejo; 
- North.

Portugal has very attractive and inviting features: the sun, gastronomy, monuments, its history, friendly people, magnificent landscapes, beautiful beaches, nature, peace of mind... among many other thinks.